Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Need help with my FDS Elite CDU (Resolved)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neuman5022



Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 261
Location: Nelson NEW ZEALAND

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 8:35 pm    Post subject: Need help with my FDS Elite CDU (Resolved) Reply with quote

Hello folks,

Trying to make my Elite CDU to work with ProSim.

Do I need to run the FDS controller V3.0.14 at all for this CDU?

When choosing module, should I put Prosim or PM ? (since it was PM made I guess)

I can set controller to work with Pro-sim, but when tying to configure I am getting the:"no cdu connected to configure" in spite it is connected.

I am running XP 32.


My CDU is working without the controller, but I get the green Execute LED to light all the time - regardless.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Cheers

Isaac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Issac,

Send me a picture of the CDU, then I can answer the question for you. Need the back side of the CDU.


Sounds like you have the much earlier version, with a keyboard encoder. It would not need the FDS-CDU software. The EXEC light is usually the "Number Lock" ON light.

These CDU's may work with Pro-Sim but not tested here.


Thanks,
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
neuman5022



Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 261
Location: Nelson NEW ZEALAND

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your support.

I think you are correct, my CDU looks like it works as a keyboard when looking in the device manager.

The green light in my case is controlled by the "caps-lock" - not the num-lock - perhaps this will give you a clue.

Although old - I am very happy with this unit - never gave me any issue.

Will e-mail you the picture

cheers

Isaac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The picture is the "older" CDU and does not require the FDS-CDU software. The avionics CDU software needs to be moved to that screen and the screen needs to have the "focus" in Windows. I can not comment on ProSim and this CDU version.

If you are able to go full screen and move the screen to the hardware screen then it may work for you.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)


Last edited by Jetcos on Fri May 03, 2013 7:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
neuman5022



Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 261
Location: Nelson NEW ZEALAND

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Steve,

I can move it, I can make it full screen - all seems to work fine apart from the green Execute LED.

No I know I do not have to install drivers, controllers and such - so I guess it will be something in the PS software that needs to control this LED.


Many thanks - you have helped me a lot.

Isaac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
neuman5022



Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 261
Location: Nelson NEW ZEALAND

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 9:36 pm    Post subject: Can someone help me with the Green LED? (RESOLVED) Reply with quote

UPDATE:

This CDU type with the keyboard encoder works OK with ProSim without any driver needed.

For the Green LED - there is a tick-box on the config page for using keyboard LEDS.

For any of you guys still using this CDU.

Many thanks for your support

Isaac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group