Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

power supply

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stefan s.



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:21 pm    Post subject: power supply Reply with quote

I have installed 2 MCDUs and a FDS-SYS4X board in my Pedestal. Each item has its own 12V power supply. Is it possible to connect these three items to one power supply? If yes, what parameters should have such a power supply?
Voltage: 12V
Ampere Meter: 3 x 2A = 6A?

Could I also use a stronger power supply e.g. 20A to wire further components later or would it damage the hardware?

I want to save plug sockets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=boeing&_mqf=0&_sop=10&_from=R40+&_osacat=26435&_qfkw=1&_from=R40&_trksid=p2045573.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.XPower+supply+ATX.TRS0&_nkw=Power+supply+ATX&_sacat=58058

One ATX PC power supply will provide ample Amps from one source
500 W is good for most apps, go to 850-1000 W if you have to light up an IBL overhead
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics
ALL FDS & OEMs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan s.



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This means that I can connect these components safely to one power supply.
Each device runs the amperage it needs. It is only important that the current-voltage (12V) determined.
I could also use a power supply with 30 or more amperes, the hardware will not be damaged.
Can anyone confirm this to me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2201

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please speak or hold until Steve Cos connects... This is a very important issue with the power required and needs more discussion.
Peter
_________________
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can create a 12V power source supplied from a computer power supply (PSU). If the PSU is rated at 30A, this means that you can draw that many amps. If the 3 devices draw 4.5 amps then it will only draw 4.5 amps.

Most important is that the devices are connected with the correct polarity.

TEST TEST TEST

Most of our devices use center pin as positive. You can replace or cut the wire and wire it to the PSU and plug into the device.

PSU's have 3V (Orange) , 5V (Red) and 12V (Yellow)


_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Garys



Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 164
Location: AB Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you go this route, and decide to use something other than a computer power supply, make sure it is a regulated power supply. One of the main disadvantages of an unregulated power supply is that its output voltage is affected significantly by changes in the mains voltage and also by changes in the load current. As the load draws more current, the DC terminal voltage decreases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan s.



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your replies. I want to use this power supply http://www.reichelt.de/Schaltnetzteile-Case-geschlossen/SNT-MW-SP320-12/3//index.html?ACTION=3&GROUPID=4959&ARTICLE=85214&OFFSET=500&WKID=0&SID=10VDIuf38AAAIAAB7UhaEb614887ac6fdbce4bb8472d3f97dd3ba&LANGUAGE=EN&SEARCH=Schaltnetzteil+12V.
I can finely adjust the output voltage. I am glad that this works. Now I can use three FDS Sys-Cards and two MCDUs with only one power supply.
This saves 4 plug sockets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That will work. Seen them used before.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group