Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

JETMAX users, PC config

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jsantos



Joined: 15 May 2008
Posts: 39
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:18 pm    Post subject: JETMAX users, PC config Reply with quote

Hello JETMAX users, would you please share your avionics PC configurations and if they are enough in performance? I have heard about Jetline systems PCs, allienware etc but need to get some parameters like memory RAM, Processor, GPU, intel i7 etc.

thank you guys.
_________________
Jose C. Santos
777 SSTD Jetmax - SãPaulo - Brazil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
787 George



Joined: 01 Oct 2014
Posts: 104
Location: Lubbock TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:05 am    Post subject: Avionics PC Specs Reply with quote

Jose,

Here are my Avionics computer specs.
I have an extra Graphics card which is not really needed plus many hard drives because I also use this computer for Video Editing.


Operating System
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.07GHz 45 °C
Bloomfield 45nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 532MHz (7-7-7-20)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. X58A-UD3R (Socket 1366) 52 °C
Graphics
DELL E1914H (1366x768@60Hz)
Generic Non-PnP Monitor (1024x768@60Hz)
Generic Non-PnP Monitor (768x1024@60Hz)
PHILIPS (1920x1080@60Hz)
VX2260WM (1920x1080@60Hz)
Generic Non-PnP Monitor (800x600@60Hz)
1535MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 (EVGA) 87 °C
2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (NVIDIA) 47 °C
2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 (PNY) 41 °C
ForceWare version: 344.11
SLI Disabled
Storage
279GB Western Digital WDC WD3000HLFS-01G6U SCSI Disk Device (SATA) 28 °C
465GB Western Digital WDC WD5000AADS-00S9B0 ATA Device (SATA) 30 °C
223GB Crucial_CT240M500SSD1 ATA Device (SSD)
279GB Western Digital WDC WD3000HLFS-01G6U4 ATA Device (SATA) 32 °C
698GB Seagate ST375064 0A USB Device (USB)
1863GB Seagate FreeAgent USB Device (USB (SATA))
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH20LP20 ATA Device
JLMS DVD-ROM XJ-HD166 ATA Device
PLEXTOR BD-R PX-B940SA SCSI CdRom Device
Audio
NVIDIA Virtual Audio Device (Wave Extensible) (WDM)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omera60



Joined: 18 Nov 2014
Posts: 132
Location: Istanbul/Turkey

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surprisingly I toasted my motherboard today for the avionics computer Laughing , waiting for the new motherboard and all then I'll post my specs...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsantos



Joined: 15 May 2008
Posts: 39
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for Sharing guys.
_________________
Jose C. Santos
777 SSTD Jetmax - SãPaulo - Brazil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cstei255



Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 49
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are specs from my Sim computer and some addons. I run two computers networked w/ SA (Jetmax) and P3D on two different computers:

P3D V2.5, FTX Global, FTX Vector, REX Texture Direct, Active Sky Next SP2 - P3D, Addons - Orbx/FlyTampa/Flight Beam/FSDT, Windows 7
Service Pack 1, i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770/GT 620 - Driver 344.75, RAM - 16 GB, 64-bit OS

Very good frame rates.
_________________
Chuck


Last edited by cstei255 on Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2201

PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Guys.. keep sharing as this is one of the most common questions and not always a definitive answer!
Peter
_________________
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
IANFXUSA



Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:08 pm    Post subject: System specifications Reply with quote

PC#1 (XPLANE 10.35)
ASUS Motherboard / Windows 7 / Intel i7-3930K CPU @ 3.2Ghz/ RAM 16GB
GEFORCE GTX Titan (3 LG 60" Plasma)
X-keys XK-60
Smart Touch Mini USB TouchPad Keyboard

PC#2 (Sim-Avionics DSTD+)
ASUS Motherboard / Windows 7 / Intel i7-3770K CPU @ 3.5Ghz / Multiple video cards
Smart Touch Mini USB TouchPad Keyboard
ELO 22” Touch screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rsm2000e



Joined: 30 Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:15 am    Post subject: AVIONICS PC Specs Reply with quote

My setup uses 4 PCs total. 1 for the SA Server, 1 for the Avionics Display, and 3 for the external view graphics in the sim (I fly XPlane 10.4 beta3)

SA Server
DELL XPS-9000 i7 920 2.7 GHZ with 12GB ram and a 7200 rpm SATA hard drive (non solid-state) and nVidia GTX 660 video card.

This system produces good workflow, and is not used for anything more complex than displaying the SA Server interface plus the virtual 737 Overhead and EFIS from SA. Performance: ACCEPTABLE.

SA Graphics
HP ROVE 20" Touchscreen w Windows 8 and stock HP Built-in Graphics.
Displays ND and PFD plus some EFIS functions including N1 and Fuel. Performance: ACCEPTABLE

XPlane main PC
Home-built ASUS P8P67 motherboard Intel i7 2600k chip overclocked via AUTO function on motherboard (formerly overclocked to 4.6ghz but not stable in all cases). 32GB ram. 7200 rpm conventional SATA hard disk.
460 watt Corsair PSU. nVidia GTX Titan w 6GB VRAM.

Runs XPlane 10, control surface hardware (PFC Yoke and matching Cirrus Jet Rudder Pedals, Plus FDS Jetmax Throttle Quadrant), plus center display panel of XPlane 10.4 beta 3 in full screen mode locked at 30 FPS.

PERFORMANCE: EXCELLENT.

Wing view PCs
DELL XPS 8500's with upgraded 460 watt PSUs and nVidia GTX 770 4GB ram video cards (1 per pc from MSi). Featuring twin-fan cooling and proprietary metal cooling tubes by MSi.

PERFORMANCE: EXCELLENT.
_________________
Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cstei255



Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 49
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cstei255 wrote:
Here are specs from my Sim computer and some addons. I run two computers networked w/ SA (Jetmax) and P3D on two different computers:

P3D V2.5, FTX Global, FTX Vector, REX Texture Direct, Active Sky Next SP2 - P3D, Addons - Orbx/FlyTampa/Flight Beam/FSDT, Windows 7
Service Pack 1, i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770/GT 620 - Driver 344.75, RAM - 16 GB, 64-bit OS

Very good frame rates.


Update - I have added a second GTX 770 and am using SLI. I also have installed the latest NVIDIA drivers (355.60) and am having very good success. Have been dealing w/ some P3D micro-stutters, but this w/ this current set-up using Rob A's 'high' settings http://www.robainscough.com/Prepar3D_Settings_2.html seeing strong improvement. Will tweak settings and I feel good about getting rid of remaining stutters. Computers from Jetline systems.
_________________
Chuck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
gpratt



Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 107
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 6:49 am    Post subject: Graphic Card specs Reply with quote

I am moving to P3D v3. I have read that this new upgrade relies even more heavily on the graphics cards. I am currently running 2x Nvidia GEForce GTX550Ti 1GB GDDR5 for my 3 monitor setup.

I obviously need to upgrade to somewhere near 4gb cards.

Any thoughts on the number of cards people are using to run 3 monitors and what Nvidia graphics card gives a good performance v cost ratio. is it best to use SLI? Are there GPU's out there that I can purchase and install just one card to run 3 monitors and still get a good frame rate and quality visuals?

Thanks
Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marco Eckl 777



Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 124
Location: Belp | LSZB

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have upgraded and updated my hardware awaiting my jetmax to arrive within the next 12 days. Hopefully Smile

Here my specs for the P3DV3 PC:
Mobo: ASRock Z97 Extreme 4
CPU: Intel I7-4790K @ 4.5GHz
Ram: HyperX Fury Blue 32GB
GPU: Asus Strix GTX960 4GB GDDR5
Coolermaster Nepton 120XL Watercooling for the CPU
P3D V3 lies on a Samsung EVO 250GB SSD, which will be upgraded to 1TB
All packed in a Cooler Master Storm Trooper Case

Here the specs for the Avionics PC:
Mobo: ASRock Z97 Extreme 4
CPU: Intel I7-4790K @ 4.2GHz
Ram: HyperX Fury Blue 16GB
GPU: Asus Geforce GT 640 2GB DDR3 // Asus GT610 2GB DDR3
Coolermaster Nepton 120XL Watercooling for the CPU
A 500GB Samsung EVO SSD will be attached as soon as the FS PC received an upgrade.

Both are connecting via network and talking via WIDEFS
All running perfectly like this.
Greetings
_________________
Marco Eckl | JetMax 777 SKTQ
FDS 777 Jetmax Flying since 06MAY2016
Sim-Avionics V1.70
FDS-777-MX-MCP
FDS-777-MX-Overhead
FDS-777-PRO-MX Pedestal
ACE 777 Proline Yoke
https://facebook.com/B777SSTDHomecockpit/
http://www.b777homecockpit.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mattymatthew801



Joined: 18 Apr 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All - hope everyone is well.

Am going to buy the Jetmax 777. Just wondering, already have a great PC for P3D, what sort of PC would I need for the avionics, is it reliant on processor, graphics card or both? What sort of price should I be spending on the avionics PC?

Thanks in advance,
Matty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mascot



Joined: 09 Mar 2016
Posts: 39
Location: Basel, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

after being trough many hours of trial and error (especially for P3D performance) here is my current setup:

P3D PC:

ASUS X99 Deluxe
I7 5930K 4.4 Ghz
16Gb RAM
GTX980TI (driving a 65" Sony LCD 4K)
128GB SSD (WIN 10 64 BIT PRO)
512GB SSD (P3D V3.3)
1.2 kW Power Supply
Cooler Master Storm Trooper

Sim Avionics PC:

ASUS Z170 Pro
I5 6600K 3.5Ghz
16Gb Ram
2 EA GTX 960 (all cockpit displays and a 23" Asus LCD Touchscreen for the Overhead)
128GB SSD (WIN 7 64 BIT PRO and Sim Avionics software)
850W Power Supply
Cooler Master Storm Trooper

I run the Sim Avionics Server and one instance of the Sound Module on my P3D PC. All other Sim Avionics Software runs on my Sim Avionics PC.

All Hardware is connected via Powered USB Hubs which eliminates most of the cabling going to the PC's.

I run P3D V3.3 on my LCD locked to 50HZ and VSync on and I never get below 50FPS even with all sliders cranked up. (I dont use ORBX Textures anymore...) Like this P3D runs smooth as silk.

I am as happy as I can be right now...

regards Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 666
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great info guys.
Thanks for sharing.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group