Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Unable to Install SimConnect - Windows 10

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HowardChristian



Joined: 29 Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:14 am    Post subject: Unable to Install SimConnect - Windows 10 Reply with quote



Hi Can you please help me.
I'm needing to install SimConnect into Windows 10 & it won't install.

The first attempt it looked like a normal install but when I checked there was no installation, not in Appdata or anywhere.
It also does not show up in the Programs & Features>Uninstall Programs.

Subsequent install attempts just flashed an extremely quick screen message that can't be read. But there's still no install.

I have tried with several different SimConnect versions downloaded from P3D (RTM, SP1 & XPACK) & also from FSPS.

I have several Windows 10 PCs & I've tried to install it on the others also & the results are all the same. So is it a Windows 10 thing?

Can someone please help, I've been trying for several days & really getting...

I have TeamViewer installed if someone capable wishes to log in.
Perhaps it might be the quickest option.

Regrads
Howard Christian.

_________________
Howard C.
B737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HowardChristian



Joined: 29 Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the subsequent reinstall attempts it does run the usual install progress bar saying Gathering Information in its window but it's extremely fast & then it just closes. I don't get a chance to see if there's any error displayed but I'm pretty sure there is not. The window just dissapears.


_________________
Howard C.
B737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 992
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Howard,

This is where the Sim-Connect is located in the P3D main folder.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\redist\Interface\FSX-SP2-XPACK\retail\lib

Run that exe

Should be installed after that.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
HowardChristian



Joined: 29 Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


No luck Steve. I've tried that & the other two SimConnects from P3D. - Same details as above.

I've tried installing it on all 4 of my Windows 10 PCs & the result is the same on each. The first install it appears to work but it's not installed.
Then each time I've tried since all I get is a very quick install progress window (split second) & it then dissapears.


_________________
Howard C.
B737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HowardChristian



Joined: 29 Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am logged on as Administrator.
I have UAC Set to Do not notify.

_________________
Howard C.
B737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 992
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like a Prepar3d Forum question now.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kand



Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 97
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Howard, I am running win 10 and simconnect fine, what makes you think it is not installing? is it showing up in your programs? I remember thinking the exact same when I was having issues getting proatcx to work

add a simconnect.ini to display the debug window, this is your starting point

C:\Users\[username]\Documents\P3d Files\SimConnect.ini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
HowardChristian



Joined: 29 Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


No it does not show up in the Programs & Features>Uninstall Programs.
It is not in the Appdata>P3D folder & I've searched the whole PC for any SimConnect file.

_________________
Howard C.
B737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kand



Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 97
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it usually lives in windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.esp.simconnect etc

check this folder

I have just checked my programs and it doesnt show, i think only the clients show up here

What are you trying to do with simconnect? in P3d its built in and already installed so running stuff on the local machine is taken care of
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
HowardChristian



Joined: 29 Sep 2016
Posts: 29
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need simconnect for SimPhysics which is installed on my Utilities PC so I need to install it both PCs.

In the P3D SimConnect instructions it says that it gets installed into the AppData/P3D..? folder the same place the prepar3d.cfg file is installed.
So that's the first place I've been checking but also just doing a computer file search.

Up until recently I had it installed for the same reason but my PCs were then W7. Recently I changed all my PCs to W10 & now it doesn't appear to install.
I installed it last time into W7 without issues.

Btw, if it doesn't show up in Programs & Features then I don't know how would you uninstall it if you needed to.

_________________
Howard C.
B737-800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kand



Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 97
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No,

it may install a cfg file there but the core DLLs are in the location I gave you earlier, check there to see whether it has installed or not. I suspect it has installed.

You will need to install older simconnect versions also to get older software to work with p3d 3.4, they are all in the reatail distribution folder in P3d

BTW you cannot uninstall simconnect, and if it gets corrupted the bad news is you generally have to reinstall windows to fix it, I kid you not, just ask Pete Dowson !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group