Flight Deck Solutions Forum Index Flight Deck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Server not connecting - (Resolved)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flight Deck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nav3pilot



Joined: 17 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:07 pm    Post subject: Server not connecting - (Resolved) Reply with quote

I have another problem that seems to be caused by a Windows 10 update because everything was working OK before the update. The server will not connect to any of the Sim-A clients or to the flight simulator via Wide FS. I run P3D on one computer and Sim-Avionics and all the clients on another computer. WideFS connects to P3D and P3D shows "1 connected", but the server shows Flight Sim not connected.. When I try to reconnect to the simulator, the log shows flight simulator detected but no connection takes place. The Sim-A clients show disconnected. Something is blocking the server from making the connections and so far I haven't been able to figure it out. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Last edited by Nav3pilot on Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:40 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 629
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If clients aren't connecting after a W10 update it's likely to be related to the Firewall.

Double check your IP Addresses. Check the update hasn't set the IP's back to automatic.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nav3pilot



Joined: 17 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The avionics computer communicates OK with the other computers on the network, so I know those IP addresses and firewall settings are OK. I'm not sure how to check the IP addresses for the clients and server, which all reside on the avionics computer. When I start the PFD, for instance, it displays a message "Server Disconnected" IP 127.0.0.1. That seems like the correct IP, but something is preventing the server from connecting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonahbird



Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 109
Location: Horsham 10 miles SW of EGKK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may seem silly, but a few days ago I had this problem.
It took me awhile to notice that SimA had become unregistered. I don't know how or why.

Resetting my registration did the trick.

Frank
_________________
Regards
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marco Eckl 777



Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 113
Location: Belp | LSZB

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this too, as normally this pops up when you change your hardware config or in my case i had a major power outage, so all IPs where mixed around.

Mark reset my Reg and all was fine again.
_________________
Marco Eckl | JetMax 777 SKTQ
FDS 777 Jetmax Flying since 06MAY2016
Sim-Avionics V1.70
FDS-777-MX-MCP
FDS-777-MX-Overhead
FDS-777-PRO-MX Pedestal
ACE 777 Proline Yoke
https://facebook.com/B777SSTDHomecockpit/
http://www.b777homecockpit.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nav3pilot



Joined: 17 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the responses. My registration showed that it was active but I reset it anyway, unfortunately it didn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kand



Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 95
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So your server cannot connect with the other simA apps on the same local computer? they would all use the localhost loopback 127.0.0.1 so network IPs are not the problem here.

Have you installed any ad/malware blocker recently?

Server is set to TCP?

disable the windows firewall on your avionics PC and see if that allows the local connection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Nav3pilot



Joined: 17 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the response. There were no changes to the computer since my last flight other than a Windows 10 update. The server is set to TCP and I did try disabling the Windows firewall and it didn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MichaelYSSY



Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 425
Location: Sydney - Australia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nav3pilot (Please add your name to post, it's much nicer to reply to a real name)

Your latest Windows update has made changes to your security settings
This is what Microsoft do, they are always making Windows more secure, Windows updates will make changes to all sorts of setting.

It is obvious that the changes associated with your latest Window update is preventing communications between Sim avionics Server and Clients.

If you are unable to locate the cause of your problem

1 Turn OFF Windows Updates
2 Select a Windows Restore Point just prior to your last Windows Update

This will fix your problem

Consider leaving WINDOWS UPDATES in OFF selection

Cheers
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try disabling your firewalls...Since a Windows Update about 6 months ago FSUIPC will not work unless I have all firewalls disabled. That is not a particular issue for me because my cockpit setup is essentially an isolated network.

Also go into the USB controllers In Device Manager and disable Power Management in their Properties tabs. The settings there are enabled by default.

Fred K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nav3pilot



Joined: 17 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have turned of all firewalls but it didn't help. I have also not been successful in turning off Windows updates. I read that it is not possible to turn off security updates in the home edition of Windows 10.

I am starting to seriously consider going back to Windows 7.

Thanks for all the replies.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows updates can be disabled in WIN 10 although it is a bit hidden...

Search for services.msc
Double click Windows Update
Select "Disable"
Click "Apply"

I have updates disabled, but every two months or so I will run a manual update under my control.

Fred K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kand



Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 95
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Navigate to

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc

open up the hosts file with wordpad

paste the contents into this thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Nav3pilot



Joined: 17 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:07 am    Post subject: Server not connecting - Resolved Reply with quote

Mark was able to sort out my problem: it turned out that my anti-virus was preventing communication between the server, clients and WideFS. I use ESET Nod32 AV and the problem was with the HIPS (Host Intrusion Protection System). Disabling HIPS fixed the problem. I plan to contact ESET to see if I can find out why this was suddenly a problem when it had been working up until the Win10 update.

Thank you to all that responded and a special thanks to Mark, who went way above and beyond the call of duty to help me get this sorted out.

Cheers,
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flight Deck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group