Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Interfacing hardware - n00b question
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fabio Miguez

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:24 am    Post subject: Interfacing hardware - n00b question Reply with quote

Gents,

Nice to meet you all. My first post here (minus a couple of answer posts on my first day in).

The name is Fabio Miguez. I am an instructor at FlightSafety Teterboro (Dassault Falconjet line-up), and also a Program Manager for the Falcon 900B, 900EX, and 900EX EASy. You would think that after an entire day at the office, the last thing I'd want to do when I get home is to think about, let alone use, another sim.

Well, you thought wrong.

For quite some time now I have been considering building a home cockpit. I have been browsing the net, ever increasingly, through places that involve hardware necessary for such an endeavour. I spent some time budgeting what I want to accomplish, and comparing vendors for all aspects of this hobby.

I am pretty much decided on a 737NG. This seems to be one of the aircraft that has the most parts available out there, be it the real ones (yokes, throttle quadrants, etc.), be it home-cockpit-purposed ones, a la FDS. Plus, I think the NG has a wicked combination of new technology, like the PFD and MFD, and old school, yokes and no fly-by-wire.

The reason for this post is two-fold. One is to formally introduce myself, as I believe I'll be frequenting this forum quite a bit. The other is to get some help (bad manners, really, already asking for help in my first message) in the subject I feel the least knowledgeable on: interfacing.