Flight Deck Solutions Forum Index Flight Deck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Where to start?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flight Deck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MM7

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:56 am    Post subject: Where to start? Reply with quote

Hey there Smile

So I have been flying on Sims for about 14 years but want to start building my own simulator, 737NG pref. I wanted to ask, I have a gaming pc which can run FS2004/FSX but have a few more questions:

1) Do you need powerful pc's to run all the other little addons?
2) What software would I need to run a full (no motion!) sim (incl weather radar, terr radar)
3) What 737 addon will I use? (PMDG 737NGX?)
4) I have no budget so where do I start?

Cheers and thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike Mike Seven,

Oh boy. There's about 1000 answers to all your questions. Most of them will have to be decided for yourself, because the options are nearly endless these days. We are truly living in good times for building a 737 sim and you've come to a great place to start. I will answer your questions with my own opinion. Others will surely have their own thoughts, but to be honest this is such a large set of questions, and so much of it really depends on you doing some homework over the next several *months* to determine what path you'll take.

1) Most ancillary software, such as avionics packages, dont require super PCs like the one you need for the sim itself.