Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Auxiliary monitors

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Flyboy2



Joined: 01 Sep 2015
Posts: 39
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:12 am    Post subject: Auxiliary monitors Reply with quote

I just ordered my JetMax 737 and am now planning my layout and computer configurations. In many photos that I have seen of JetMax installations, there is usually seen 1 or 2 auxiliary monitors in use on the side for controlling the program and some for map displays.

Which computer (Flight or Avionics) are these auxiliary monitors connected to? My Flight computer will use two GeForce 970 GTX video cards in SLI mode so I suppose I will still need a third video card if needing an additional video port for program control monitor. Likewise, the 4 video ports on my Avionics PC will fully used so no extra port for an auxiliary monitor...unless I add a 3rd video card.

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Gordon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would leave any "extra" monitors off the FS PC. Use all the available GFX cards and CPU horsepower to run FS.

On the Avionics PC I would run 3 GFX cards. Make sure you have VGA or DVI I outputs. I suggest you stay away from Display Port. Use nVidia cards only for their better Open GL capabilities.

We use the older 210 or the 610 GFX cards. Be careful which GFX cards you choose. Any other GFX cards you will end up buying adapters that cost as much as the recommended GFX cards.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OmniAtlas



Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 124
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an Intel motherboard with 2 video outputs. I bought a cheapo nvidia card with 3 video outputs.

I have a total of 5 outputs running of the avionics (2 for the mcdu, left right and center mip). I believe this should be sufficient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flyboy2



Joined: 01 Sep 2015
Posts: 39
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went with the Optoma GT1080 ceiling mounted and the image is awesome, 100" diagonal measurement. I've been flying with P3D a little bit while I wait for my Jetmax 737NG to arrive and loving the display so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group