Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

YOKE INSTALLATION / Button Assignments (Resolved)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 9:40 am    Post subject: YOKE INSTALLATION / Button Assignments (Resolved) Reply with quote

I have just installed an ACE Yoke in my Jetmax 737 SKTQ.
The axes work fine in fsuipc as do the buttons on the TQ.
The elevator trim buttons are set up in fsuipc on x53F4 as per Mark's response (15 Apr 16) to another topic, and the A/P Disconect button to x53DB.
However, the trim switches do not influence the sys display page and the A/P Disconect button has no effect either.
The fsuipc_io file shows ELEVATOR_TRIM_SWITCH=53F4
Can anyone please give me the exact changes/additions I need to make to the fsuipc_io file in order to make the trim and A/P Disconect switches work correctly please.
I am using S-A v1.582.
Many thanks
Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kand



Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 106
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Im using the ACE 777 yoke, the FSUIPC offsets working fine here, your buttons do register in FSUIPC?

I use the FSUIPC trim buttons, dont thinkyou use the simA settings, try it with just the default trim assignments
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A/P & A/T Disconnect Switch and TOGA

OFFSET_WORD_SET

Offset = x53DB

*Don't forget the "x"

Parameter = xxx

551 = A/P Disconnect
567 = TOGA
563 = A/T Disconnect



Elevator Trim Options: Using FSUIPC/Sim-A for settings


53F4

OFFSET_BYTE_SET

x53F4

Trim Up = 1

Click the Repeat Switch action

OFFSET_BYTE_SET

x53F4

Off event = 0

Then Trim Down:

OFFSET_BYTE_SET

x53F4

Trim Down = 2

Click the Repeat Switch action

OFFSET_BYTE_SET

x53F4

Off event = 0

Adjust Trim speed on Server > Flight Controls 1 tab
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Winstonc



Joined: 09 Mar 2016
Posts: 271
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As Steve said.

I have an ACE 737 yoke and all works fine following setup instructions

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks everyone for the replies.
That is exactly how I have my yoke set-up.
A/T Disconnect and TOGA (and reversers and fuel cut-off switches) have been set up using FSUIPC and have always worked properly.
However, the elev trim switches and A/P Disconnect not only do not work as advertised but trigger the following responses:
Elev trim up = No 1 Eng REV caption.
Elev trim down = brakes on
A/P Disconnect = No 2 Eng REV caption.
There are NO buttons allocated in FSX and Controllers are disabled.

Steve - clearly the Jetmax TQ-related offsets are in the system somewhere, but not the right oner for the Yoke. The FSUIPC_IO.INI file has the line ELEVATOR_TRIM_SWITCH=53F4 near the bottom. The FSUIPC FSUIPC_IO_JETMAX.INI file just has ELEVATOR_TRIM=53F4 at the same place. Making it read ELEVATOR_TRIM_SWITCH=53F4 has no effect.

Where do I go from here ?

Thanks

Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delete the FSUIPC.ini file and start again.

The switches only know what they have been told to be. Only issues are default switch assignments in FSX/P3D. If you deleted them then the file is blank you assign as you need.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Peter
Question, is this the FSUIPC4.ini file in FSX you are referring to, or the FSUIPC_IO.ini file in Sim-Avionics/System in the avionics PC ?
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The one in FSX or P3D.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apologies - STEVE
FSUIPC4.ini deleted and has reinstalled itself.
Confirmed no button or axis assignments in FSX.
Re-assigned selected switches and axes using FSUIPC with mixed results:
Elev trims and A/P Disconnect on Yoke now do not create false inputs to Sim-Avionics PC, but do not create correct inputs either.
Yoke axes do input correctly as does the A/T Disconnect button on the JETMAX TQ.
Therefore, how do I configure the Sim-Avionics pc to recognize the elev trim and A/P Disconnect FSUIPC offsets pse ?
I may not reply for a bit as in hospital tomorrow for a minor op.
Thanks
Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Deleting the FSUIPC ini files starts you off with a blank FSUIPC.

Then you assign as per usual. Nothing should change.

Assign pots, switches and calibrate in FSUIPC.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Steve
Done all that again (and again after re-installing S-A on the FSX pc) but to no effect.
The Yoke elev trims and A/P Disconnect do NOT WORK when programmed in FSUIPC4.
Yet the A/T Disconnect on the Jetmax TQ when programmed in FSUIPC4 DOES WORK.
I'm on Skype christopher.finn204 if you want a chat.
But I am now at a loss.
Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1036
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your assignments and make sure you have the "x" in front of the offset? The correct assignment in the drop down menu. Word or Byte, there are 2 used. Makes a difference.

This is how we do it and always have. Nobody else is having this issue so it is related to your setup. Something is wrong.
_________________
Steve Cos
Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I quite agree there is something odd with my set-up.

The setting and offsets are correct - the Jetmax TQ & Tiller are working correctly in FSUIPC so why should I get just the trim and A/P disconnects wrong ?

I'm going to do two things:

Raise the question on the FSUIPC Forum.

Wait until Sim-A 1.6 is released and see how we go with a fresh installation in P3D v3.

Thanks

Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MichaelYSSY



Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 472
Location: Sydney - Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris

I'm not 100% on this but it can't hurt to check.

I believe that AP Disconnect uses Multifunction Offset
Check in your FSUIPC_IO.INI file that multi function is set correctly

MULTI_FUNCTION=

Just check that trim offsets also match what you are evtering in FSUIPC.

Worth checking I think.

Cheers
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Location: 5nm West of EGYD

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Michael

They are correctly set - MULTI_FUNCTION=53DB and the odd thing is that 563 A/T Disconnect and 567 TOGA work correctly (from the TQ) but 551 A/P Disconnect doesn't work from the Yoke switch.

ELEVATOR_TRIM_SWITCH= 53F4

I'll see what Peter Dowson suggests.

Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

"More Beer - Bigger Women - Longer Runways"
(Buccaneer aircrew toast)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group