Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Flight Director problem with ILS approach

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joyaziz



Joined: 05 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 5:36 pm    Post subject: Flight Director problem with ILS approach Reply with quote

Good Day

I have noticed that once the LOC and GS mode is activated, the FD in both the Captain and FO seat doesn't work with the LOC nor the GS. the flight director is always centered in the middle. and it doesn't change according to the LOC or the GS

Any advise ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 666
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a difficult one to answer with a simple - "Do this"
I know the FD is working correctly in these mode because we use it all the time.

Could you mail me a pic or movie of this happening so I can give you some suggestions.

Do you have the ILS tuned correctly ?
Is a valid ILS station identified on the PFD ?
Have you set the correct ILS course on the MCP course selectors.
On that note - is this 737 or 777 ?
Does this happen for all ILS approaches or just ones at a particular airport ?
Is this default scenery or addon ?
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Joyaziz



Joined: 05 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark

here are some photos and video explaining the problem










Video 1: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ce7a649t5npyodj/IMG_4257.MOV?dl=0

Video 2: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7cth7ar9agizp7n/IMG_4259.MOV?dl=0

-Do you have the ILS tuned correctly ? Yes
-Is a valid ILS station identified on the PFD ? Yes
-Have you set the correct ILS course on the MCP course selectors ? Yes
-Does this happen for all ILS approaches or just ones at a particular airport ? All Airports
-Is this default scenery or addon ? Tried Both Scenery and Addon

it is B777

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joyaziz



Joined: 05 Aug 2016
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any suggestions ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark

Any ideas on this?

I see exactly the same thing here. On landings I need to resort to tracking the ILS bug down....the bug tracks exactly as it should.....the horizontal FD bar always lags significantly. Vertical bar is OK.

Also on TOGA ascents the horizontal bar tracks higher than it should I believe (about 20% AoA as opposed to around 15% where it should be?).

Using 1.583 here.

Regards,
Fred K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay...I think I have this resolved....at least regarding my issue.

In the FSUIPC I/O file make sure there are no offset entries for any of the following:

RUDDER_TRIM_MOVE_CONTINUOUS
RUDDER_TRIM
RUDDER_TRIM_SWITCH
ELEVATOR_TRIM_SWITCH
AILERON_TRIM_SWITCH

In the default I/O file there are entries that should not be there. Delete them.

I previously had problems with uncommanded rudder deflection which was solved by eliminating the offset entry for rudder trim. Now that I have also eliminated the offset entries for aileron switch and elevator switch my FD is tracking very nicely as it should and LVL CHG is also much more stable. This is based on only one test flight today but I believe my issue is resolved.

Fred K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2201

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Fred.
Really shows how many variables there are to watch for and that they are not always in Sim-A... The results appear there but can be created by many other items...
I don't envy Mark trying to figure these situations out... Quite a mind he has!
Thanks Fred!
Peter
_________________
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 666
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Fred,

I'm glad it's fixed your problem... not sure how.. but...

Those offset functions look for values 1 and 2 to move left or right.
0 stops the trim movement.

So it suggests that there might have been some rouge data in the offsets triggering uncommanded rudder or aileron movement.

FYI: By removing the offsets from the IO file you can still assign the rudder trim switch via the SYSBoard Control in the future.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fred



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a couple of additional flights....I can confirm there is an improvement.

Fred K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddoyle



Joined: 18 Jul 2015
Posts: 35
Location: Palmerston Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good evening Gents

I have the same problem on the 737

I tried it and as I got closer to the airport the FD took me to the left of the centreline and di not reduce alt at all.

The ils bugs on the bottom and side of the PFD were moving.

Also currently no hearing any morse code sounds so I'm not sure if im even picking up the ils correctly.

Any help would be appreciated.
_________________
Kind Regards

Damian Doyle
Flight Sim Enthusiast and 737STKQ owner.
Palmerston, NT Australia

i5 3770, 8GB G.Skill RAM, GTX 960 2GB, GTX 610 1GB, 2TB HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group