Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

p3dv4 and orbweaver razer key pad

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VE3ORE



Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Location: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:36 pm    Post subject: p3dv4 and orbweaver razer key pad Reply with quote

If you have a key pad from orbweaver and run P3D v4 you will know that there is an issue which causes P3Dv4 to hang.

In the past I have found that this key pad was a great alternative to a full sized key board for those special functions you need to program.

LockheadMartin say that the workaround is to switch the controls to DirectInput or to leave the device disconnected.

To switch the controls to DirectInput :
1. Unplug the device.
2. Start Prepar3D.
3. Goto Options > Controls > Other.
4. Choose the DirectInput option from the Input Method section.
5. Close Prepar3D.
6. Plugin the device.
7. Restart Prepar3D.

I wonder if anyone has tried this. My setup is very stable at the moment and I am worried this could effect my other USB connected input devices.

Any feedback or suggestions welcome.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VE3ORE



Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Location: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:40 pm    Post subject: Update Reply with quote

No takers on this subject so fingers crossed I switched to direct input and all seems to be ok and the keypad works as expected so that's good.

Now I just have to make it look a bit more like something that could be found on a flight deck! Definitely painting it Boeing grey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You also may find that type of panel (or similar) on EBay for less than a hundred, and link the keys to a joystick card and program whatever function you wish with FSUIPC...After a good cleanup looks more "avionic-ish" than a keypad.


Another one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Boeing-CDU-Control-Display-Unit-Teledyne-2227050-10-/122739547761?hash=item1c93d8de71:g:4TQAAOSwdPBZ1AyS&vxp=mtr
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics
ALL FDS & OEMs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VE3ORE



Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Location: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Jack, that's a great idea. I followed the link you posted and bought that control unit which I am sure I can adapt for the purpose.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group