Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Computers in a Sim

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xviator



Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: Computers in a Sim Reply with quote

Hello Guys!

I am wondering whether how many computers do you guys have in your Sim and what they are used for.

I'm planning to have this configuration:
1. Main FS Computer
2. PM Captain's PFD and ND and MCP
3. PM Upper and Lower EICAS
4. Captain's FMC

Please give me your input guys. I am currently "Building in the head" now. Razz
_________________
Kai Hong
Still a desktop simmer Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kai,

I know this subject was also in the other Forum so i assum you could find the answer there how people spread there software on different machines.

I use at the moment 8 comps but if you only go for the CP side you could do it with 4.

Succes with the building

gr.
Frans M
frans@flightdecksolutions.com
_________________
Frans M
www.airbus320.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2231

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Computers Reply with quote

Ron did up a great overview on this topic. I will post it shortly in the TUTORIAL Section of the page. For now it is here:

http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/pcupload/PCSpecs.doc

PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Xviator



Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for replying to my thread guys. I was originally planning to get a FS computer that only had a 150gb HD and a P4 2.8ghz. But I guess I'll change my mind now. Very Happy

Btw can anyone explain to me what is PMsystems? I have heard a lot of talk about it but I am not sure what is it.
_________________
Kai Hong
Still a desktop simmer Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dnoize



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 643
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmsystems simulates the overhead logics of several aircraf. something FS cannot do itself yet.

more info here:
http://www.projectmagenta.com/products/pmsystems.html

Stef
_________________
www.boeing737ng.com - the 737 simulator project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Xviator



Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dnoize wrote:
pmsystems simulates the overhead logics of several aircraf. something FS cannot do itself yet.

more info here:
http://www.projectmagenta.com/products/pmsystems.html

Stef
Are there any other options other than PMSystems to simulate the overhead logics? How do other people simulate the overhead without it?

They are more or less the same question..... Laughing

Thank you very much for your help guys!
_________________
Kai Hong
Still a desktop simmer Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dnoize



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 643
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

theres desktop software that simulates overhead logics, with the PMDG software being the best.
In fact the PMDG logics are even more acurate and realistic than project magenta.
Unfortunately the only part of the PMDG that is hardware interfacable is the CDU.

Therefore right now PMsystems is the only software suite for the overhead logics that can be interfaced and used by builders.


Stef
_________________
www.boeing737ng.com - the 737 simulator project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Xviator



Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dnoize wrote:
theres desktop software that simulates overhead logics, with the PMDG software being the best.
In fact the PMDG logics are even more acurate and realistic than project magenta.
Unfortunately the only part of the PMDG that is hardware interfacable is the CDU.

Therefore right now PMsystems is the only software suite for the overhead logics that can be interfaced and used by builders.


Stef
So what do other users use to interface their overhead without PMsystems? Like Ray Sotkiewicz, etc.
_________________
Kai Hong
Still a desktop simmer Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dnoize



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 643
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont know what Ray uses, but most builders use PMsystems like i do.

I know theres a possibility to do it with ON737 aswell, thats a program written in SIOC, an event based language that drives the IOcards from open cockpits. But thats not even remotely as userfriendly as PMsystems is.

So i would say that most builders use PMsystems.
some builders use on737 or have written their own logics
some builders have a partially functional overhead where they only use the offsets available in FS.

Stef
_________________
www.boeing737ng.com - the 737 simulator project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Xviator



Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dnoize wrote:
i dont know what Ray uses, but most builders use PMsystems like i do.

I know theres a possibility to do it with ON737 aswell, thats a program written in SIOC, an event based language that drives the IOcards from open cockpits. But thats not even remotely as userfriendly as PMsystems is.

So i would say that most builders use PMsystems.
some builders use on737 or have written their own logics
some builders have a partially functional overhead where they only use the offsets available in FS.

Stef
Got it.... Thanks! Very Happy I'm building a 777 though but hey, that's also Boeing! Razz

Quote:
have written their own logics
some builders have a partially functional overhead where they only use the offsets available in FS.
Is it the same case with the Pedestal?
_________________
Kai Hong
Still a desktop simmer Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dnoize



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 643
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think pmsystems works with 777 too. (or will in the future).

pedestal will work with standard fsuipc offsets. my ped fully works only using standard offsets (COM 1 , COM2, NAV1, NAV2, ADF1, ADF2 and TXPDR)

stef
_________________
www.boeing737ng.com - the 737 simulator project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Xviator



Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for answering my questions! Very Happy
_________________
Kai Hong
Still a desktop simmer Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
PhilM



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 31
Location: UK (EGFF)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ours is a 146 STA sim;

We use currently:

1 Main Sim PC (Athlon XP2000, 512mb RAM, Radeon 7000 64mb).
1 Instruments PC (P2 450, 128mb ram), that runs FreeFD on both the CAPT and FO displays. However this means the PFD is always on the elft, and the ND is always on the right.

It's all changing soon! Essentially, due to having a requirment for 3 Parallel LPT ports, I will be running three PCs as follows:

1 Main Sim PC (As above) - LPT used for IOCards MasterCard

1 CAPT PC (P2 450) Running FreeFD PFD/ND- LPT for the 4x20 LCD on the AC/DC Power Metering Panel (think 737 NG!)

1 F/O PC (P2 450) Running FreeFD ND/PFD - LPT for the MCP's 2x40 LCD.

Of course, no doubt it'll all change again soon when we identify new requirements/bugs! Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sbecker777



Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Location: San Diego, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm building a 777 and am using pmSystems for the overhead. Haven't built the overhead yet, though, so I'm just using a screen.

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group