leds and valve transit in the overhead with the sys1 card

This Forum is designed to support and assist in the use of any/all FDS related Interface products.

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

brissydave
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 5:45 am
Location: australia

leds and valve transit in the overhead with the sys1 card

Post by brissydave »

hey anybodies.

i wonder how we will get the dull to bright annunciator effect when using the sys1 card. i also wonder if pm sys has a hand in it seeing that the bitmaps might change state in the process of a valve transit.
as there are two leds to an annunciator you could kill/brighten one for the change in state but the annunciator would be then lit unevenly to one side.

im stabbing in the dark here with a wet twig. its been on my mind for a while this.
any ideas?

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Dual Level

Post by pcos »

We will have to look at this see what we can do.
First thing we need to do is understand how many instances of this exist across all the aircraft types.
If it is alot ( I doubt though) we would have to build something with software in mind.
My second reaction though is to use dual outputs. The output part of the cards is abundant so we could study a second output beng used for each "dual stage" Annun and provided added resistance to decrease the output level. This would achieve what is needed.
I will ask SteveW to jump in on this as he is starting to get into thte overhead area with panels, parts and interfacing on the NG. Bright guy and will likely come up with a few options.
I need to discuss the implications of this with Brent of course as it begins and ends there.
Thanks for the heads up on this Dave.
If anyone is aware of other examples now is a good time to mention.
PC

SWeker
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by SWeker »

You nailed it Peter.

Before reading your entire post, I thought of the exact same solution you did, which is using 2 outputs. One for 100% brightness, another for 50% brightness. "In theory", you should be able to wire a resistor into the 50% brightness LED that would drop the brightness down to a desired level. I'll do the math when I have a chance, and let you know what wattage / ohm resistor to use. The only other catch will be PM Systems. Will have to do a quick check to see if there are two separate offsets or value for each brightness. If not, it'll get real tricky.

Cheers, Steve
Steve Wekarchuk
www.wekarchuk.com
facebook.com/sweker

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

Do it the KISS way: Use a third LED (very bright kind of thingy).

For instance, the VALVE OPEN (crossfeed) annunciator on the overhead:

The regular two LED's lights up, and stays lighted as long as the crossfeed is in progress.
The third LED is lighted for a specified duration to simulate valve opening/closing. I haven't played around with PMSystems yet (and do not have FDS software yet), but this could easily be done with logics.

Can I use the FDS software for self-made logics? If not, maybe this could be done in new versions? All you need is a timer option.

The LED could be mounted on the side of the annuciator (I have not seen the back of a completed overhead from FDS, so I don't know how much we have to play with here). To get increased illumination, you do not need to direct the LED on the annunciator label - just use very bright LED's.

This makes the setup very easy, do not involve resistors and can be done quickly.

At least, this is something someone could try for us? I do not have any annunciator parts lying around, so I am not able to do it myself for the time being.

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

LED

Post by pcos »

No need to complicate things with adding more LEDs.
Secondary output with Resistors, adding diodes to prevent any backloop through th ematrix and you are done. We will get some diagrams together when folks are at that point in wiring. Likely Steve will get there first.
PC

vidarf
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Narvik, Norway
Contact:

Post by vidarf »

Forgive me, Peter, but your outline actually seems to be the long road.

With an additional LED, you only need one wire from the SYS board to the LED.

If you follow Peter's approach, you will need:
-resistor (trial and error to find correct value)
- diodes on each connection line (to prevent the juice to go where you don't want it).

Of course, if there isn't any space or you don't want to drill another hole in your annunciator, Peter's approach will certainly work.
I don't like to complicate things more than I have to. And if you add more components to the setup, there is a (slightly) increased chance for failure.
I have worked with LED's and circuit board design, and a very good rule is to do things as easy as you can. Plus (and this is my stress point): More components will increase the price. Maybe not so much, but why waste money?

I will try this myself, and will post my results here.

Anyway, gentlemen: do as you please. :)

brissydave
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 5:45 am
Location: australia

Post by brissydave »

dual input.
ahhhh yeah.....what a good idea!

pcos
Site Admin
Posts: 2285
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 8:39 am
Contact:

Dual Brightness on SYS Boards

Post by pcos »

Folks,
Here is the info required for Dual Brightness on the SYS boards.
Brent's wiring suggestion.
SteveW checked the reisistor value and is confident that it is ideal with our Super Bright LEDs.

The Wiring Diagram is here:
Image


SteveW is suggesting these Offsets:

57AC .0 Eng1valDim
57AC .1 Eng1valBrite
57AC 1 EngVal1 /737 engine-/spar-valve for DIM/BRIGHT, 0 / 1 / 3 or 4 if MAX4 is set
57AD .0 Eng2valDim
57AD .1 Eng2valBrite
57AD 1 EngVal2
57AE .0 Spar1ValDim
57AE .1 Spar1ValBrite
57AE 1 SparVal1
57AF .0 Spar2ValDim
57AF .1 Spar2ValBrite
57AF 1 SparVal2
579C .0 Anti1WingIceDim
579C .1 Anti1WingIceBrite
579C 1 AntiI1
579D .0 Anti2WingIceDim
579D .1 Anti2WingIceBrite
579D 1 AntiI2

brissydave
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 5:45 am
Location: australia

Post by brissydave »

oh yeah! now thats what im talking about!
thanks a million!!

SWeker
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by SWeker »

Gents,

Here's a couple pics that show the difference in brightness. Works perfectly!

Bright
Image

Dim
Image
Steve Wekarchuk
www.wekarchuk.com
facebook.com/sweker

brissydave
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 5:45 am
Location: australia

Post by brissydave »

stevo...when i use "set value" or "bit" or whatever to input the value of whether the valve is dim or bright, what do i do with the little decimal?

just put it in mate?

happy st. patricks day!!(st.pissupbigtimeandspewovermyfrontverandawithyourtitsout .....day) :D

SWeker
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by SWeker »

Hey Dave.
Happy St. Patty's! I've had the boys upload all the overhead LED (output) xml files. All you need to do is download and go. Should be two files.....one for bright and one for dim. Give it a shot. Cheers, Steve
Steve Wekarchuk
www.wekarchuk.com
facebook.com/sweker

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

May be it is a wrong idea and please let me know but as far as I see it there is no DIM state just regular brightness like all other annun and a BRIGHT state for transit. In which case the blue annun will be dimmer than the others if you apply a resistor...Is that right?..or wrong.
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

brissydave
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 5:45 am
Location: australia

Post by brissydave »

yeah jack, resistors are the go.
one variable would be for the five second brightness, the other for the dim state....as you probably know already.

steve thanks for the xmls.....awesome mate.

brissydave
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 5:45 am
Location: australia

Post by brissydave »

yunno how the sys cards dont like two earths joined together or a power lead from one group of eight connected the earth in a diff group of eight right?

could you do the above by attaching diodes (as in the picture) seeing that they are one-way thingys?

sounds like a silly question but i might save me some wiring.

Post Reply