Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Overhead configuration - 737

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
memeyer



Joined: 27 Mar 2018
Posts: 29
Location: Gardner, Kansas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:30 pm    Post subject: Overhead configuration - 737 Reply with quote

I have a question regarding the configuration of the overhead panel in my sim. Essentially, I have built my own overhead panel and it is working. The problem I have is that my panel contains individual switches for the lights (L Retract and R Retract, for example), whereas it appears that the Sim-Avionics plane has these switches consolidated into one switch operating both lights. When I go to assign my switches through Sim-Avionics both lights light up when I throw either switch. How can I change the configuration so that these discrete assignments will be reflected in the sim. That is, each light comes on with each separate switch throw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 907
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't currently do that.
The switches can be assigned separately but it's a limitation of the VC model that the L and R lights are paired.
So you can control Fixed, Retract and Turnoff lights, but the L+R are paired together.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
memeyer



Joined: 27 Mar 2018
Posts: 29
Location: Gardner, Kansas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your very quick reply.

I assume that will be the case with the entire panel then? For example, I have switches for all the individual fuel pumps, etc. Basically, it is a replica of an actual 737. Is there any other solution? Is it possible to edit the VC model?

Thanks again,
Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fuel pumps work individually, hydraulics, pneumatics also etc

Besides, in real flight why would you light up from just one side of the airplane except to wink at your darling who waits for you at the end of the runway.
Dancing

PS: The classics had even a flap which allowed simultaneous switching on all lights
_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHastings



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 907
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to confirm...
ALL switches can be addressed individually.
It purely just the landing light simulation in P3D that has the L+R paired.
_________________
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
memeyer



Joined: 27 Mar 2018
Posts: 29
Location: Gardner, Kansas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark:

Thanks for the reply. I really appreciate the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jean Louis



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 121
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's true what Jack says but we can wonder why Boeing has installed a switch per side?
_________________
JetMax 737/Sim Avionics FSX
Overhead JetMax/yoke ACE
MCP/Efis and complete pedestal CPflight
FSC Throttle motorised
Rudder pedals opencockpit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackpilot
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably because it allows two different circuits so in case one fails for whatever reason you have a back-up.


Here is the flap which pushes down all four light switches together in one shot

_________________
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Sim-Avionics Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group