Flying legs

This section of the Sim-A Forum is for support issues.
Only a few Clear Rules Here:
1. No Rants. Rants will be deleted and the poster contacted. All focus here is to assist in the spreading of information to better assist all Sim-A users. Most of the people helping are not paid employees.
2. Be Polite. We want all Sim-A users to experience the fantastic elements that make Sim-A what it is. Being able to communicate here will allow the info to be the focus.
3. Time. We do not have someone on the Forum 24/7 so please allow members to jump in to help when needed.
4. Most important. This is not a "Issue" forum. If you feel there is an issue then please email support@sim-Avionics.com and Mark will review that. This is a commercial product and erroneous reports do harm.

Moderators: Jetcos, MarkHastings

Post Reply
jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Flying legs

Post by jackpilot »

Hi Guys
When I fly a leg, let's say Montreal- Boston, I park to the gate in Boston, hook up to ground power, shut off engines and switches off most items.
IRS stays on.
Just to make sure I flush all route data in the FMC.

Then I enter GPS pos and new route, perf etc to whatever. ...JFK, short hop. Check fuel and go through Flow and checks, Push, start, A/T arm.
Off to JFK
Route shows on the ND, pages on CDU ok but..
VNAV LNAV HDG ALT VS do not engage

MCP does not respond
Displays and rotaries work
Push buttons do'nt

If I switch PA on the aircraft banks and steers back to Boston

Something simple I miss when shutting down at the gate..??

Besides that, all systems work impeccably on the first leg.

Jack
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Jetcos
Posts: 1274
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Check the FMA's

Did you cycle the Flight Directors?
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Not sure if I did...will check that.
Thanks Steve.
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Fred
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by Fred »

Multiple legs do work fine here...mostly operated that way for WorldFlight.

In addition to cycling the F/Ds I also make a habit of disengaging/reengaging the MCP and flushing the runway approach frequency in the NAV from the previous flight (on occasion I have experienced APP mode being active on takeoff for whatever reason).

Fred K

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

thank you both

did all that
clears the MFA
and works

Question: real procedure or SimA specific
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Jetcos
Posts: 1274
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:42 pm
Location: Newmarket,Ontario
Contact:

Post by Jetcos »

Resetting the Flight Directors is real.
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Thank you Sir
Tried yesterday CYYZ - Sault Sainte Marie - CYUL

Everything worked fine.
(Also N1 target set at 19.9 for Winter ops !)
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

N737AG
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:50 am
Location: Weston, FL, U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by N737AG »

Also Jack : I do not know if it is company policy or not, but I have learned this from several pilots of different airlines : IRS's are turned off and re-aligned after each leg, except if above the limitation latitudes.
Axel Grau
Project : Boeing 737-800

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Ah ?

Cant hurt anyway :wink:
Willco
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

N737AG
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:50 am
Location: Weston, FL, U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by N737AG »

Jack

The theory behind this, among others, is that the gyros can loose some little alignment in turbulence, and some more alignment during touchdown, braking and taxiing.. But again, this might just be company policy. Tonight i will check the manuals.
Axel Grau
Project : Boeing 737-800

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Not sure it's implemented in SimA as last position is id to GPS L
I may be wrong though, will see on next flight.
Interesting.
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

omera60
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:37 am
Location: Istanbul

Post by omera60 »

N737AG wrote:Also Jack : I do not know if it is company policy or not, but I have learned this from several pilots of different airlines : IRS's are turned off and re-aligned after each leg, except if above the limitation latitudes.
That is a company policy or sometimes left to the discretion of pilot flying as turn around times may not match with the alignment. This is especially true for low cost carriers. For example, Turkish Airlines requires its crews to reset it unless there is a delay etc where as Pegasus (Low Cost carrier in Turkey) does not dictate a realignment and rather encourages crews to align them on the first flight of the day.
Image

Post Reply