Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

10GB over a 1GB setup?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Michael_B767_ATP



Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 12:19 pm    Post subject: 10GB over a 1GB setup? Reply with quote

Hi,

I've been seeing some network ping times in the high 20s and now I'm beginning to see some lag.

I already swapped out my cat 5- 15' cables for cat 7 5' cables, I figured the shielding may help with any outside noise. But the numbers remain the same.

I was wondering if going from a 1GB network to a 10GB network would get rid of the lag issue.

I was thinking about the following:

1. MikroTik 5-Port Desktop Switch, 1 Gigabit Ethernet Port, 4 SFP+ 10Gbps Ports.

https://www.amazon.com/MikroTik-Desktop-Gigabit-Ethernet-CRS305-1G-4S/dp/B07HYKQFWD/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1549074876&sr=8-1&keywords=CRS305-1G-4S+IN&linkCode=sl1&tag=craftcomputin-20&linkId=ce8a158ef1ece6763cf13df7225081e6&language=en_US

2. Mellanox Connectx-2 PCI-Epress x 8 10GBe Ethernet Network Server Adapter Interface Card.

https://www.amazon.com/Mellanox-Connectx-2-PCI-Epress-Interface-MNPA19-XTR/dp/B016OYD0D4/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1543864493&sr=8-1&keywords=mellanox+connectx-2&linkCode=sl1&tag=craftcomputin-20&linkId=ccf1a4e4557ba4f3772615ec2ddb88e1&language=en_US

3. 10G SFP+ DAC Cable - 10GBASE-CU Passive Direct Attach Copper Twinax SFP Cable.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WHS3NCA/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&psc=1&linkCode=sl1&tag=craftcomputin-20&linkId=3ae0108d1ee74bc2233413ddcfe07874&language=en_US

Anyone gone this route and can offer some suggestions, this is my first go at this.

Thanks
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GDR



Joined: 26 Sep 2008
Posts: 309
Location: EBBR

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Michael,

As an IT'er, I regularly encounter this as well at some customers. With the high end switch appliances like cisco you don't have this. but yeah, those easily costs over 1000US$.

Though the length of the cable doesn't matter that much.

Quote:
1000BASE-T (also known as IEEE 802.3ab / 1Gb) is a standard for gigabit Ethernet over copper wiring. Each 1000BASE-T network segment can be a maximum length of 100 meters (328 feet), and must use Category 5 cable or better (including Cat 5e and Cat 6)


Though, what you can try is to change the negotiation type from auto to 1GB Full Duplex on both the computer network card and switch port. If not tried already. And this of course if the switch you have is manageable.


Do note that SFP+ is Fibre Optics, most of the time. It is used as a swappable port, sor there you need to pay attention that you have the correct ones for CAT5. This could also be at an additional cost. Based or your links provided, you are apparently taking that into account.

Just a thought. Hope this may help you further. Wink
_________________
Geert.

Full B737-800 DSTD
ALL FDS & 0.00001% OEMs
Sim-Avionics V1.96
P3D v4.5
FSUIPC v5.151

What goes up, must eventually come down!
http://www.flightsim737ng.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Winstonc



Joined: 09 Mar 2016
Posts: 407
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mike,

I’m not sure that going to 10gb network is going to solve the stuttering as I would have thought 1gb was more than sufficient. I think there is something else going on. From your video it looked like the stuttering was just on you left and right outside views, is that correct?

What if you don’t run FDSToXP, do they go away? If you don’t run the CDU client domthey go away?, if you don’t run zhsi do they go away?

By the way, do you have any intention of upgrading to the FDS motorized TQ?

Let me know how you get on.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael_B767_ATP



Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

In the process of getting the takeoff config and bell at flaps one fixed at the moment.

Once that's done, I'll check the sim minus the various components. I figured I was at my limit because I can see the following.

visual one: will go from 20ms up to 30ms
visual two: will go from 18ms up to 30ms
visual three: will go from 20ms to 32ms

They fluctuate and take turns going down and up. No more than two are in the low 20's at any given time and the third is always at 30+.

Thanks everyone
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael_B767_ATP



Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

Well, I decided to get the following. It can't hurt, hope it helps withthis 30ms lag.

https://www.amazon.com/MikroTik-Desktop-Gigabit-Ethernet-CRS309-1G-8S/dp/B07NFXN4SS/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=MikroTik+10gb&qid=1558146240&s=gateway&sr=8-3


https://www.amazon.com/Mellanox-Connectx-2-PCI-Epress-Interface-MNPA19-XTR/dp/B016OYD0D4/ref=pd_bxgy_147_img_3/131-1420401-5086422?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B016OYD0D4&pd_rd_r=0235d5f7-7914-11e9-a967-b34187462b23&pd_rd_w=wdqtQ&pd_rd_wg=aZcic&pf_rd_p=a2006322-0bc0-4db9-a08e-d168c18ce6f0&pf_rd_r=26C71CF4AYM8NNS0B4R9&psc=1&refRID=26C71CF4AYM8NNS0B4R9


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XDC9MG6/ref=twister_B07N2SD3ZX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael_B767_ATP



Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Parts are here, got here way sooner than the tracking. I am having an issue I cannot figure out.

I'm running wndows 7 pro so I went to http://www.mellanox.com and downloaded the drivers.

When trying to install, I get an error that states Windows Update KB3033929 is required. I have that update installed.

Any ideas?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Winstonc



Joined: 09 Mar 2016
Posts: 407
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the board supported under Windows 7? You may need to upgrade to 10.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael_B767_ATP



Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

They have an install for 7 that requires a windows update, that update is in yet it still says it needs it.

Waiting to hear from Mellanox

UPDATE: Mellanox only operates via contract. Looks like I'll be returning these boards for boards that are supported via drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael_B767_ATP



Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

The drivers have been found, time to figure out to set it all up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> Open Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group