Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
The place to meet and talk with fellow builders
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CDU Blank
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:53 am    Post subject: CDU Blank Reply with quote

After loading V 1.95 I ran a flight and everything appeared to work just fine. When I tried a flight later in the day I discovered that the screen on my CDU was totally blank. I reloaded v1.94 to see if 1.95 may have caused the problem but the same problem exists.

Checked the Sys Board and the ID entry for the CDU was different that the last detected input on the Board so I pressed the MENU key on the CDU and that changed the ID on the last detected input to match the CDU ID. (Only the MENU key was available to do this....no other key responded.) But still a blank screen on the CDU.

Checked the VGA cable to the CDU by hooking it up to another monitor and there is a signal from the GPU so that isn't the issue.

Also, the button lights come on during start up but the familiar 3 flashing light sequence does not happen just prior to when the screen would become active and viewable.

Any ideas as to why my CDU screen has become totally non responsive?

Thanks.

Harry
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Banananav



Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 76
Location: 5nm West of RAF Cranwell

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Harry
I had the same problem a couple of years ago.
Couldn’t find any hardware or Sim-A problem.
Was using W7 then and found that doing a Windows update resolved the problem.
I think it was an update which resolved issues in a previous update.
Chris
_________________
Chris Finn

Jetmax 737-800 & TQ
P3D 4.5 HotFix2
S-A 1.961
FSUIPC 5.152
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MichaelYSSY



Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 641
Location: Sydney - Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a test program for the FDS CDU that will check buttons, leds and screen test.

First thing would be to run this Test Program.
Cant remember what it is called but Steve got me to use it some years ago.

If I find the name I will post.


Cheers
Michael
_________________
SSTD 737, SA 737 v1.96
P3D 4.5 FSUIPC 5.152
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2265

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe it is this:
https://www.tekworx.com/get_download.php?download=Setup-FDS-CDU-v3.1.5.zip

Once you have tested I would suggest you delete/uninstall the software as you do not want it fighting with the Avionics software interface which is direct to the hardware. Steve can correct me if I am wrong here.
Peter
_________________
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1223
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is correct, only run the FDS-CDU softwrae OR the SYSBoard Controller,. Not both.

FDS-CDU software turn on LED"s, test switches and turn on the screen.
_________________
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jetcos wrote:
That is correct, only run the FDS-CDU softwrae OR the SYSBoard Controller,. Not both.

FDS-CDU software turn on LED"s, test switches and turn on the screen.


Thanks Steve/Peter....will let you know how it goes....Harry
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HarryZ wrote:
Jetcos wrote:
That is correct, only run the FDS-CDU softwrae OR the SYSBoard Controller,. Not both.

FDS-CDU software turn on LED"s, test switches and turn on the screen.


Thanks Steve/Peter....will let you know how it goes....Harry


Steve....ran the FDS-CDU and everything worked OK except when I clicked on the "LCD" box, the test screen displayed "No Sync." I know there is a signal coming from the GPU because I hooked up that VGA cable to another monitor earlier and it tested OK Not sure how to trouble shoot this because it looks like the signal isn't getting processed by the CDU's monitor.

BTW, should that monitor have a 60 MHz refresh rate or 56?

Thanks.
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2265

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That tells you the CDU display is ok. Now down to playing in Windows and specifically the graphics set up Harry....
Peter
_________________
____________________
Peter Cos
President
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pcos wrote:
That tells you the CDU display is ok. Now down to playing in Windows and specifically the graphics set up Harry....
Peter


And finding out what happened in Windows between 1400 when it worked ok and 1900 when it stopped working with nothing happening in between!

Have already played around in the Nvidia Control Panel for an hour and haven't seen anything in there that may have caused the problem.
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pcos wrote:
That tells you the CDU display is ok. Now down to playing in Windows and specifically the graphics set up Harry....
Peter


OK...I hooked up a different computer to the CDU which means a different VGA input and signal.....and got the same test results with FDS-CDU....No Sync on the CDU screen. So now I'm at a loss as to what is causing the problem other than I suspect something with the CDU LCD as same issue with two different computers.
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jetcos



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1223
Location: Newmarket,Ontario

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you hear the relay click when you go to tun on the screen?
_________________
Steve Cos
Vice President and Tech Support
Flightdeck Solutions (FDS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MichaelYSSY



Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 641
Location: Sydney - Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Harry

Check your power supply for the CDU 12v dc I think,
Like Steve said, also listen for the relay click when the CDU is switched on and off.
If you are certain of signal output then there’s nothing else you can check.

For signal output you can try connecting a spare working screen and you should get the CDU display.

Michael.
_________________
SSTD 737, SA 737 v1.96
P3D 4.5 FSUIPC 5.152
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jetcos wrote:
Do you hear the relay click when you go to tun on the screen?


Yes, I hear the click when I turn on the screen.
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crazydunc



Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Location: Cheltenham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HarryZ wrote:
Jetcos wrote:
Do you hear the relay click when you go to tun on the screen?


Yes, I hear the click when I turn on the screen.


Harry,

In the past when faced with this issue I have had to experiment with a range of Screen Resolution and Frequency settings to get the unit to play ball properly.

I have one that works on 1024x768 at 60Hz and one that works on 800x600 and a different freq (i can't remember off the top of my head I am afraid, but can check tomorrow).

Dunc
_________________
Regards,

Dunc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HarryZ



Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazydunc wrote:
HarryZ wrote:
Jetcos wrote:
Do you hear the relay click when you go to tun on the screen?


Yes, I hear the click when I turn on the screen.


Harry,

In the past when faced with this issue I have had to experiment with a range of Screen Resolution and Frequency settings to get the unit to play ball properly.

I have one that works on 1024x768 at 60Hz and one that works on 800x600 and a different freq (i can't remember off the top of my head I am afraid, but can check tomorrow).

Dunc


Dunc,

The refresh rate for 800 x 600 was 56 MHz and for 1024 x 768 was 60 MHz. I tried both settings but that didn't have any effect on the problem.
_________________
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group