I need some help

Dedicated to The Support of All Flightdeck Solutions, Ltd Products

Moderators: Curtis, Jetcos

Post Reply
tkellogg
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:30 pm
Contact:

I need some help

Post by tkellogg »

I am beginning the process of setting up my network and loading software for my sim. I have loaded MSFS of my server and both FSUIPC and WIDEFS on my server as per Peter's directions in his user's guide. I am getting ready to load WideClient.Exe and WideClient.ini on each client PC and I am confused by the following directions:

On each client PC
1. Place WideClient.Exe and WideClient.ini in any desired folder (I recommend either in the same folder as your FS utility, or a dedicated folder called WideClient).
2. Also install here any bitmap you want WideClient to display as background for your utilities (i.e. replacing the FS panel for which they may have been designed). If you do want to use a bitmap, you will need to edit the WideClient.ini file and add the bitmap filename using the “Background=filename” parameter. (See the section on WideClient parameters, below).


Where is the same folder where FS Utility is located?
What is an example of a desired folder?
What are bitmaps and what does it mean to display as background for your utilities (i.e. replacing the FS Panel for which they may have been designed?


Thanks for any help. I have read the user guides for bothe WIDEFD and FSUIPC and there is a lot of info to digest.
Tom Kellogg
Madison, Georgia USA
FlightSim 737NG
www.creativesimulations.com
kkellogg@bellsouth.net

RocketRod
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Post by RocketRod »

Where is the same folder where FS Utility is located?
Mine is PFD on one computer and ECAIS on another. You can name them whatever you want. When you start installing the GC, just use that folder.
What is an example of a desired folder?
C:\PFD or C:\ECAIS
What are bitmaps and what does it mean to display as background for your utilities (i.e. replacing the FS Panel for which they may have been designed?

Not sure, as I never did anything with this one. Checked my WideClient.ini on the seerver and clients, no entry at all that pertains to that.

Course, someone else may know the answer.
Rodney

737NG Pit Builder
Some Assembly Required

warvet
Posts: 1298
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:23 am

Post by warvet »

Tom,
Let me help you my friend a bitmap is merely a picture. all Peter D is saying is if you'd like to identify the program wideclient as anything other than the normal blue square as default, you are able to change it to something else. However to make this change you must find the picture you desire to use and name it, this name must now replace the default bitmap name in the ini file so you are able to see it. Hope this helps, all the best. :D

Tim
A340
Canada

tkellogg
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:30 pm
Contact:

Thanks

Post by tkellogg »

RocketRod and Warvet,

Thanks a bunch guys. You are lifesavers. Programming my sim will probably be my biggest challenge. It is reassuring to know that there is help for those of us who are computer hardware and software challenged. I am sure I will be calling on you again for assistance. By the way Tim, thanks also for blazing the trail on the visual system. I am sure that I speak for a lot of us on the forum who are anxiously awaiting the results of your latest endeavor.
Tom Kellogg
Madison, Georgia USA
FlightSim 737NG
www.creativesimulations.com
kkellogg@bellsouth.net

warvet
Posts: 1298
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:23 am

Post by warvet »

Thanx Tom,
Just one of the guys :wink: Will keep you posted.

Tim
A340
Canada

Post Reply