Project started

A showcase of Projects based around Flightdeck Solutions customers. FDS customers are welcome to post their work.
Please contact pcos@flightdecksolutions.com for photo updating and posting if you require assistance.

Moderator: Jetcos

Post Reply
Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Project started

Post by Winstonc »

I have started my 737 project, platform built, one seat and yoke added and 3 50" tv's on stands installed. Noticeable lack of FDS gear, but that should start to change in a week or so 😃

Image[/URL]

MichaelYSSY
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Sydney - Australia

Post by MichaelYSSY »

Hey

Looks a great start to a wonderful project.
Seat looks fantastic, the ACE Yoke, a wonderful piece of engineering (I have one too) after using the yoke mounted to the floor like your have for about a year or so I managed to mount it under the floor, it looks a lot better and no box to get in the way of your feet.

If you don't mind me asking, what video card are you using?

Cheers
Michael

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

MichaelYSSY wrote:Hey

I managed to mount it under the floor, it looks a lot better and no box to get in the way of your feet.
Michael
Hi Michael
How did you manage the height difference?
Jack
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Post by Winstonc »

MichaelYSSY wrote:Hey

Looks a great start to a wonderful project.
Seat looks fantastic, the ACE Yoke, a wonderful piece of engineering (I have one too) after using the yoke mounted to the floor like your have for about a year or so I managed to mount it under the floor, it looks a lot better and no box to get in the way of your feet.

If you don't mind me asking, what video card are you using?

Cheers
Michael
Hi Michael,

I'm using three Nvidia Geoforce GTX 970. The TV are actually 4K, but I am only driving them at 1080p resolution until such time as video cards at a reasonable price are available that can drive them at there native resolution.

David

MichaelYSSY
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Sydney - Australia

Post by MichaelYSSY »

Thanks David

I have 2x40 inch TV's running at the moment, your 3x50's look very impressive (I'm somewhat restricted with space).
Video card does make a lot of difference when it comes to displaying FS especially add on scenery. Choose wisely, only sensible advice that I got from forum is get the best that you can afford.

Did you stich the screens in NVIDIA or are you running the magic box?

Cheers
Michael

MichaelYSSY
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Sydney - Australia

Post by MichaelYSSY »

Jack

I did a fair bit of measuring and got a local engineering shop to make me up a coupling style extension piece of tube from aluminium so that I could remove the Yoke from the top of the existing column, insert the extension piece and then sit the Yoke back on top.
This did involve cutting and extending the wiring to the Yoke (I did this at the top).

The other thing I did was to remove the box and existing mounting plate at the bottom and mounted the base to the floor with steel angle brackets.
This allowed me to mount the base at a angle so that the Yoke leans forward, was trying to replicate real install angle. Probably not exact but I recon it's pretty close.

I painted the extension piece but didn't get the colour exact, that's a job for another day.

I must say that I'm a lot more happier with the way it is now than the way it was.

I can give you more info and send you some pics if you're thinking of taking on the project.

Cheers
Michael

Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Post by Winstonc »

MichaelYSSY wrote:Thanks David

I have 2x40 inch TV's running at the moment, your 3x50's look very impressive (I'm somewhat restricted with space).
Video card does make a lot of difference when it comes to displaying FS especially add on scenery. Choose wisely, only sensible advice that I got from forum is get the best that you can afford.

Did you stich the screens in NVIDIA or are you running the magic box?

Cheers
Michael
I am using Nvidia Surround

David

cstei255
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:26 am
Location: United States

Post by cstei255 »

Very nice - can you tell me where you got the seat? Thanks.
Chuck

Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Post by Winstonc »

Hi Chuck

The seat comes from Swiss-SIM on eBay.

David

Jean Louis
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:39 pm
Location: France

Post by Jean Louis »

chuck if you seek a seat, will see at Nick louis
http://www.oncealoft.com
JL

Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Post by Winstonc »

Look what arrived from Canada today :)

Image[/img]

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

I know (we all know) the feeling...
But take your time as it is a wonderful experience very close to building a real airliner front end.

Enjoy!
Jack
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Post by Winstonc »

Thanks Jack and I fully intend to😃

Winstonc
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:12 am
Location: California

Post by Winstonc »

Four hours or so of work today it's beginning to look like I have a 737 nose section in my "man house" :)

Image[/URL]

Image[/URL][/img]

MichaelYSSY
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Location: Sydney - Australia

Post by MichaelYSSY »

Hey David

That looks great.
Once you climb in there you're in another world.

Keep up the good work and keep those photos coming.


Cheers
Michael

Post Reply