Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index Flightdeck Solutions
Technical Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Very Basic Pushbutton Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
markt



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Ansonia, CT

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 9:13 am    Post subject: Very Basic Pushbutton Question Reply with quote

I am wiring the glareshield on my a320 sim using the keykit package supplied for my nova glareshield. My question is how to wire these switches to a keyboard encoder, I can't seem to get them to work. I can wire a simple pushbutton to the keyboard encoder but for some reason not these pushbuttons. Do all for contacts need to be wired to the encoder, can I only wire two of the four and tie the other 2 off somehow.

Thanks I know its very basic but for some reason I am stumped. Also will the elite keykit series work with my nova glareshield. I may have to reorder they key kit.

Thanks
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark, what kind of system do you use?

epic... fsbus... or something else?

And what button you refer to exactly?

Frans M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2274

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: Switches Reply with quote

Need to know what switches you are aksing about as well.
Small OMRON? AML?
PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
markt



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Ansonia, CT

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The pushbuttons that came with my nova glareshield kit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
pcos
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 2274

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:58 pm    Post subject: Switch Types Reply with quote

The OMRON are a 12mm square switch. Typically black with yellow push tab on top.
the AML is a large .75" x .75" size (roughly)
Do you have a meter? This is a tool that every builder needs. Being able to check things like continuity are a big part of what you are doing..
Sounds like you are using the OMRON.
They are a 4-pin type switch. Only two need to be used.
Having a meter set to "Continuity" woudl allow you to test the various pins and push the switch watching for activation.
PC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bwr014



Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wire at 1 and 3 i belive it is the connections are the same just 2 pins are needed

there are small numbers on the omron as peter call them.

Frans M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
markt



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Ansonia, CT

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

THanks for the replies. I may have made a costly mistake by not looking first at the switches before putting them in now I am afraid I won't be able to clearly see the small numbers.

What is the name of this meter, I may not have a choice but to get this.

THanks guys
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
olealm



Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 118
Location: Bergen, Norway (a few miles from ENBR)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark, most cheap "multimeter"s have the possibility to check continuity. Here in Norway they are sold for around $15 and up in various places. If your on a very tight budget (not likely, building a cockpit lol), you can still test is with a 1.5V battery and a LED. Connect it with the switch in series and find the pins to solder the wires to that way.
_________________
Regards,
Ole J. Almenningen
www.simbuild.com
www.737cockpit.no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Flightdeck Solutions Forum Index -> FDS Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group