intercepting radials (Resolved)

This section of the Sim-A Forum is for support issues.
Only a few Clear Rules Here:
1. No Rants. Rants will be deleted and the poster contacted. All focus here is to assist in the spreading of information to better assist all Sim-A users. Most of the people helping are not paid employees.
2. Be Polite. We want all Sim-A users to experience the fantastic elements that make Sim-A what it is. Being able to communicate here will allow the info to be the focus.
3. Time. We do not have someone on the Forum 24/7 so please allow members to jump in to help when needed.
4. Most important. This is not a "Issue" forum. If you feel there is an issue then please email support@sim-Avionics.com and Mark will review that. This is a commercial product and erroneous reports do harm.

Moderators: Jetcos, MarkHastings

Post Reply
jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

intercepting radials (Resolved)

Post by jackpilot »

I tried navigating VOR to VOR for a change, not using the FMS.

VOR on NAV1, course set on MCP, HDG selected for proper intercept then VORLOC selected.

The airplane does not intercept.
I'm probably missing some step ?
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

MarkHastings
Posts: 956
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:08 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by MarkHastings »

1) Tune VOR freq on NAV 1
2) Select Map Mode to VOR and verify the VOR is correctly identified.
Once it's tuned and active you will see the parked deviation bar to the left or right of the selected course.
3) You can select VORLOC at any time and it will either engage or Arm.
Once the deviation indicator becomes solid the VORLOC will engage.

NAV1 radio displays on the CPT ND and NAV2 displays on the FO ND.

NAV1 and NAV2 pointer needles can be displayed on either ND using the EFIS selector switches.

NAV1 VOR is tracked using CMD A (Left MA Lit)
NAV2 VOR is tracked using CMD B (Right MA Lit)
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Thank U Mark, I probably skipped or mixed something,
I will test and confirm.
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Intercepting radial going to the VOR

VOR tuned on NAV1
Identified on ND
EFIS on VOR (HSI rose)
Course (radial) set TO the VOR (intercept angle around 30 deg.)
Left FD MA light on
CMD A active
HDG on an intercept track
Deviation bar gets solid
VORLOC shows armed on PFD
Deviation bar aligns but the aiplane continues straight ahead, VORLOC stays armed on PFD, deviation bar overshoots.
GRRRRR,

Loc intercept works perfect on APP , VOR radial Intercept does not.
Could there be a wrong setting in P3D or aircraft cfg ?
Or forgetting the obvious ? (old age catching up ...lol?)
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

MarkHastings
Posts: 956
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:08 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by MarkHastings »

Which VOR are you trying to intercept...?
I can check a specific one here to see if there is something unusual in the data...

Have you tried a few different ones ?
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

Actually I started to suspect exactly that.
All my tests were done on Mirabel VOR (YMX) and maybe Montreal VOR (YUL)

I had a nice flight this afternoon Oslo-Munich and switched a few times from LNAV to VORLOC when heading for a VOR along the route and intercept was all OK.

Thank you for your time Mark


:D
Last edited by jackpilot on Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

MarkHastings
Posts: 956
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:08 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by MarkHastings »

I’ll check on those VORs.
Mark Hastings
Software Developer
Sim-Avionics

jackpilot
Site Admin
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Montreal

Post by jackpilot »

If it may matter (should not) all my test were made at low altitude (6-7000')
Jack
Full B737-800 DSTD/Sim-Avionics P3d4
ALL FDS & OEMs (+custom TQ)

Post Reply